09
Sep
08

ode to a pauper true


in another life I could appreciate whatever it is you need

in another mindframe I could look the other way

as you covet my family, I am not moved

as you scorn my ability, I am not moved

as you outfit and paint face, I am merely off-put

as you stand near my hearth I am merely guarded

for what is mine is unquestioned, but regard have you none

forked tongue peeks out behind bleached teeth

as you smile, intentions masked, yet obvious

a wretch pure and true, of all things beautiful:

a pauper through and through

0 Responses to “ode to a pauper true”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

